Does this mean I miss you?

crying
By: Bethelhem Teame

If my eyes are welling up at the mere mention of your name….

If my heart is rebelling and my mind can’t overcome

If hearing your voice raises all these unfathomable waves of emotions inside……
If I feel like I am suffocating without you by my side…
If I feel like I have left part of me behind
If I am telling the stories of our moments with tears flowing down….
If I recall the funnies moments with mixed emotions of laughter and sorrow alike…
If I see you in everyone I see, meet or talk …
If I want to believe everyone bears some kind of resemblance to you….
If my dreams are filled with you…..
If my thoughts travel to your direction and dwell there….
If I keep imagining how you would love everything here…..
If I want to buy you everything I see….
If my prayers are God to make us meet soon, maybe tomorrow….
If I desperately, almightily want to see you again….
If I can hear your thunderous laughter if I really concentrate…
If I want you to see me in my new dress…
If I desperately want your opinion on the shoes and else….
If the sole reason for my selfies are to put a smile on your face….
If I whisper your name just to feel its beauty
If I do so and can’t breath easy
If I am losing weight
If I am losing color
If I am changing my behavior
Does this mean I am missing you?
Is this how someone misses someone else?
Please tell me, for this is a new experience
If so, then I miss you
I miss you…
I miss you….
I miss you and I confess I am bad at it…
I admit I am lousy at at it….

 

8 thoughts on “Does this mean I miss you?”

  1. expressive but you have asked the question after explaining the obvious symptoms that one feel when one terribly misses someone in plain words. “does that mean I miss you”

    you could use an Overstatement segment, if you need to exaggerate in order to emphasize a certain truth. For example, “I wandered lonely as a cloud” exaggerates the speaker’s loneliness but serves the purpose of conveying that his lonesome feelings are beyond literal expression.

    It would have been perfect if you could use Verbal irony in a statement in which the meaning that you imply differs sharply from the meaning you expressed.

    Like When in “The World is Too Much With Us” William Wordsworth writes, “Great God! I’d rather be a Pagan suckled in a creed outworn,” he is using verbal irony. While the speaker laments the idea that any Christian could be forlorn while witness to natural beauty, he certainly does not want to forgo his faith and become a Pagan in order to appreciate nature. What Wordsworth means is that Christians must have faith and have their faith renewed by witnessing God’s creation.

    1. Dear Kebede Bonda, I asked the question after “explaining the obvious symptoms that one feels when one terribly misses someone” because as said on the later part of the poem it is a new experience and she is not sure if what she is feeling is ‘missing him’ for it is a new feeling and experience for her. She is asking for a confirmation of some sort….
      Don’t we all at some point wonder about what we are feeling deep inside towards something or someone and be at a loss of defining our feelings? Maybe missing someone isn’t a new experience for you and couldn’t see the point of listing all the feelings she is experiencing first and asking the question later….but to someone who is new at this or is waging a battle inside whether to calm the torrent of emotions she is feeling inside or let them gush out…..it is quite a challenge and wouldn’t care any less about the order of her confession.
      I will try to incorporate some ‘overstatement segments’ and ‘verbal irony’ in my works….and I thank you for the time and effort and also the feedbacks on my works. It is really great. Thank you again.

Leave a Reply

